Did you know that NOFO Hotel is in a building that has quite a story?
Built in 1780 by Lorenz Sifvert it first served as a brewery. In 1812, it was bought by Stockholm City and used as barracks for the city guard. Back then the “guests” consisted of petty thieves, beggars and promiscuous women. The building has also served as a temporary hospital as well as emergency housing.
In 1976, 200 years after the house was built, the Columbus Hotel opened for business. In 2015, the name Columbus set sail for the last time and instead NOFO Hotel emerged on the horizon. And our voyage has just begun.
Today, after extensive renovations and expansion (completed May 2019), we have 109 rooms in four completely different concepts: Scandinavian design, La Belle Époque, The Uptown Classic and Industrial Vintage.
The inspiration for our different concepts comes from different Södermalms and exciting areas and cities around the world, such as: Soho and Carnaby Street in London, Queens and Upper East Side in New York, Trastevere in Rome and Montmartre in Paris, Copenhagen and of course Stockholm.
March 2019 we opened doors to our new wine bar and restaurant: NOFO Wine bar. During the summer months it expands into our lush courtyard with outdoor seating and bar – a fantastic place to hang out and socialize.
The menu is dynamic and uncomplicated with dishes that are made to share. The focus of our wine list is small-scale producers of natural wine, without major pretensions. In close cooperation with our suppliers, we offer gems that cannot be found elsewhere. Our assortment is changing constantly and openness sets the tone.
Welcome to NOFO. The home of Söder.